Southern African HIV Clinicians Society

April 20, 2017

The Southern African HIV Clinicians Society (the Society) is a membership organisation of over 3 000 health care workers with an interest in HIV. The Society’s mission is to promote evidence-based, quality HIV healthcare in Southern Africa.

The Society is a non-profit company (NPC) and is governed by a thirteen-member Board of Directors, all of whom serve a two-year term. The current Board is led by elected President, Dr Francesca Conradie and elected Deputy President, Prof. Yunus Moosa. 

The Society has one committee, the Child and Adolescent Committee, which is governed by a six member leadership group. The purpose of the committee is to advance best practice HIV prevention, care and treatment services for children and adolescents.

The Society’s membership includes doctors, nurses, pharmacists and other health care professionals working in the field of HIV. Members of the Society are amongst the most respected and influential HIV clinicians and policy makers within Southern Africa and hold prestigious positions within academic, public and private organisations in the field of HIV in the region.

The Society’s secretariat is based in Johannesburg, South Africa, and is led by Chief Executive Officer, Lauren Jankelowitz.

Physical address
112 Algernon Road
Johannesburg, 2192
Telephone number
+27 (0) 11 728 7365
Email address
health care workers, HIV, HIV care, HIV services, treatment, HIV prevention, nurses, pharmacists, health care professionals, clinicians, policy-makers