Webinar: The People Living with HIV Stigma Index 2.0: Community-driven strategic information for change

Date: Friday, 27 October 2017

Time: 10:00 am EDT/ 2:00 pm GMT/ 3:00 pm WAT/ 5:00 pm EAT

The People Living with HIV Stigma Index was developed by the Global Network of People Living with HIV (GNP+), the International Community of Women Living with HIV (ICW), the International Planned Parenthood Federation (IPPF), and UNAIDS to provide evidence of stigma and discrimination, especially to advocate for the rights of people living with HIV. The Stigma Index is both a data collection tool (a survey) that documents experiences and levels of stigma, and acts to empower both the interviewers and the interviewees, who are often being asked to talk about their experiences of stigma for the first time.

Since the Stigma Index was launched, there has been growth in the evidence base on how different populations are affected by stigma, and changes in the global response to HIV—particularly the adoption of “test and start.” These developments have highlighted the need to update and strengthen the Stigma Index so it can be applied more effectively as a measurement and advocacy tool.

Project SOAR and GNP+, ICW, UNAIDS, USAID, and several experts within and external to SOAR, have updated the People Living with HIV Stigma Index in an iterative process. The updated tool was pilot tested in three countries—Cameroon, Senegal, and Uganda. Presenters will discuss the Index, the updating process, results from the pilot testing, potential impact on policies and programs, and what’s next for the Index.

Venue
Webinar
Tags
People Living with HIV Stigma Index, stigma and discrimination, data collection, Test and Start, Cameroon, Senegal, Uganda